FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS BY PARENTS

1.  Who do I call if my student will not be in school today?
You should call the Attendance Office at 531.299.8009 as soon as you know your student will not be in school.  As soon as your student returns to school from his/her absence, It is her/her responsibility to get missing work.  It is not acceptable for students to ask for missing work weeks/months later.

2.  I have not been receiving any emails, U.S. Mail, or phone calls from the school.  Who do I call to update my contact information?
You should call our Data Secretary at 531.299.7251 to update your contact information.

3.  I keep getting phone calls from your automated phone dialer.  What do these calls mean?
Most of the time, it means your student either missed a class or was tardy to more then one class period.  Attendance phone calls are generated at 9:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.  If your student misses a class in the morning, and it is not verified by the end of the day, you will get a second phone call in the afternoon.   The automated phone call will not tell you to which class your student was absent or tardy.   You can find that information out by calling the Attendance Office at 531.299.8009, or by logging into the Parent Portal.  You must have an account.  Occasionally, we will send out automated phone calls for informational purposes and reminders (Open House, PT Conferences, etc.)

4.  How can I see the academic progress of my student?
You can find your student's class grades on the Parent Portal.  You must have an account.  The Parent Portal can keep you up to date on your student's grades, attendance, school fines, immunizations, and teacher contact information. 

5.  What if I forgot my Portal Account information of have forgotten my login credentials?
There is a "forgot password" link that you can select; otherwise, you may call Ms. Corcoran in the Main Office at 531.299.8020.  You can also have your student login onto the Portal using his/er network credentials that he/she uses at school. 

6.  I'm worried about my student's grades.  Who should I call?
You should always start by contacting the teacher.  Teacher contact information can be found here.  You are welcome to call or email at any time.  If you need help, please contact your student's counselor (See question #7).


7.  Who is my student's counselor?

 NAME  ACADEMY  EMAIL  PHONE
 Ms. Brown, Director      AP Cohort (last names N-Z) & Health Professions (last names S-Z)        Andrea.Brown@ops.org  531.299.8043
 Ms. Cameron  Design (Last names A-Q)  Katie.Cameron@ops.org  531.299.8012
 Ms. Campbell  AP Cohort (Last names A-M), Design (last names R-Z), & Ell (Last names R-Z)   Amanda.Campbell@ops.org        531.299.9060
 Ms. Johnson  Health Professions (Last names A-R) & ELL (Last names A-I)  Beverly.Johnson@ops.org  531.299.8028
 Mr. Koneck-Wilcox  Business & Entrepreneurship & ELL (Last names A-I)  Robert.Koneck-Wilcox@ops.org  531.299.7992
 Ms. Starks  Freshman  Shauntae.Starks@ops.org  531.299.7916
 Ms. Cardinale  Secretary  heather.cardinale@ops.org  531.299.7994


8.  My student is a senior and I'm worried about his/her graduation status.  Who should I contact?
You should call your student's counselor.  See question #7 above for counselor contact information.

9.  Who is my student's administrator?

 NAME TITLE  STUDENTS WITH LAST NAME  EMAIL  PHONE
 Mr. Rhine  Dean of Students  9th Grade  Jason.Rhine@ops.org  531.299.7986
 Mr. Buckner  Dean of Students 10th Grade  Michael.Buckner@ops.org  531.299.7941
 Mr. Campin  Assistant Principal - Activities     11th Grade  Casey.Campin@ops.org  531.299.8022
 Mrs. Bailey  Assistant Principal - Athletics 12th Grade - B,E,H,M,P,R,S,U,V,W,X  Melinda.Bailey@ops.org  531.299.7224
 Mr. Martin  Assistant Principal - Data 12th Grade - A,C,D,F,G,I,J,K,L,N,Q,T,Y,Z      Todd.Martin@ops.org  531.299.7906
 
10.  What are Career Academies?
Career Academies are smaller learning communities with a focus.  At Benson, we have three: 

   -  Business and Entrepreneurship
   -  Design

   -  Health Professions

Graduation will always be our first objective; however, once our students graduate, we want them to be college, career, and civic-life ready.  Through career academies, we offer our students opportunities like certifications, internships, job-shadows, and specialized courses that are not readily available at other schools. Your student may not want to enter into one of those professions after high school and that's okay.  We remain a comprehensive high school that will prepare your student for the workforce or post-secondary education. 

11.  I have a concern about one of my student's classes.  Who should I contact?

You should always start with the teacher.  Teacher contact information can be found HERE.  If you are unsatisfied after that contact, your next call should be to the curriculum specialist.

 NAME DEPARTMENT(S) PHONE EMAIL
 Mr. Duggan Special Education 531.299.7942 Michael.Duggan@ops.org
 Ms. Hughes English Language Learners 531.299.8984 Kristen.Hughes@ops.org
 Ms. Laughlin     English, Music, Reading, GPS, Drama, & Journalism   531.299.7990     Jane.Laughlin@ops.org
 Ms. Johanek Career Academies 531.299.8040 Angela.Johanek@ops.org
 Ms. Reece Social Studies, World Languages, AP, World Languages, & Business     531.299.7947 Mary.Reece@ops.org
 Ms. Hale Math, Art, Industrial Tech, Science 531.299.7980 Joanna.Hale@ops.org
After that if you remain unsatisfied, your next call should be to your student's administrator (see question #9 above).
 
12.  Can students leave the building for lunch?
No.  All OPS high schools are closed campuses.  Students may not leave the building at any time, nor are they allowed to have lunch brought in from a restaurant.

13.  What are the hours during which the school is open?
The school opens at 7:20 a.m.  Students may not enter the building prior to 7:20 a.m.  Students may get breakfast beginning at 7:20 a.m. in the cafeteria and may begin heading to class at 7:20 a.m.  Students that are participating in any after school activities are expected to leave campus at 3:05 p.m.  Students are not to loiter at the building after school. 


Other frequently contacted school personnel:

Registrar - Ms. Duncan 531.299.7251

Nurse - Ms. Coleman 531.299.2521
Social Worker - Ms. Mason 531.299.7974
Attendance Office - Ms. Gardner 531.299.8009
Athletics Office - Ms. Pistorius 531.299.8029
Main Office - Ms. Corcoran - 531.299.8025
Treasurer - Ms. Flemmer - 531.299.7987